The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP)

You may be able to get food assistance from a local TEFAP organization in your area in two ways: 1) getting foods from a place like a food pantry to take home or 2) eating a meal with a group of people at a place like a soup kitchen. Whether or not you are eligible to receive TEFAP foods to take home depends on your household income level. The income level depends on the state you live in because states decide the income standards for TEFAP. In some states, you may be eligible for TEFAP if you already participate in other federal, state, or local food, health, or welfare programs which are based on income. For meals that local organizations prepare and serve in a group setting, you do not have to meet a certain income level because these organizations have already shown that they serve mostly low-income people.


The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP) is a federal program that helps supplement the diets of low-income Americans by providing them with emergency food assistance at no cost. USDA provides 100% American-grown USDA Foods and administrative funds to states to operate TEFAP. States provide the food to local agencies that they have selected, usually food banks, which in turn distribute the food to soup kitchens and food pantries that directly serve the public.

Links to interactive maps to show food pantries in your area:

Link to 2-1-1 by United Way

Link to Catholic Charities:


County Numbers

Barbour County
Braxton County
Doddridge County
Harrison County
Jackson County
Lewis County
Monongalia County
Nicholas County
Preston County
Ritchie County
Taylor County
Tyler County
Wetzel County
Wood County